One more specimen

So, this noon I was at the cafeteria heating up my lunch box in the microwave when this Chinese looking guy walked up with his lunch box. As usual, I threw a brief smile at him and continued to do my business, when he said –

“Hi. So when are you planning for a baby?”

“Sorry??!”

“You are married for some years now, no? When will you have a baby?”

“Ah.. not sure yet.” ( WTF!! I hardly know this person. Why am I even answering him!)

“I think I’ll have another one by next year.”

“Oh, Ok.” ( Wow, thank you so much for this critical information Sir. What would I have done without it.)

“Bye then.”

“Bye” ( Phew! )

Does this kind of weird viva voce sessions happen only to me or such specimen with bizarre questions are common all throughout?

This entry was posted in Get to know people around me, See if I can make you smile. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One more specimen

  1. Silvara says:

    WTF??? that is really random lol…

    I HATE people like that lol 😛

  2. Dewdropdream says:

    Maaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!!! What the hell was he thinking???!!! Maybe you should do a bit of research on this guy 😛

  3. snippetsnscribbles says:

    What bullcrap!!! Who the hell wud ask such downright personal questions to some random stranger?!
    I thought only Indians had this problem of asking he ‘baby’ questions. Looks like even China shares the same genes with us!

  4. Silvara – Me hates them too!

    DewDropDream – I know! But, noticed a ‘stupid streak’ on his face and that might be the origin of this random questioning out of the blue.

    Snippetsnscribbles – I can almost see the fumes coming out! LOL! Not a total stranger maybe..Used to some casual smiles and ‘hi’s in the office though I don’t still know his name.

  5. Gnightgirl says:

    How weird; I wonder if there was mistaken identity—did he think he knew you?!!

    And note to Snippetscribbles: That push for people to have babies must be universal, because it’s definitely an American thing too. My second husband had a vasectomy (too much information, I know) and didn’t want his family to know—he thought it none of their business. …So I had to endure years of their pestering me to get pregnant, and give them more grandbabies. God forbid I should wear a loose top to the family reunion; the women went crazy waiting for “good news!”

  6. snippetsnscribbles says:

    Gnightgirl – oh my god! Really?? Its a Universal Syndrome for sure!

  7. GNightGirl – Nope, not mistaken identity atall.
    OH!Pestering for grandbabies happens so aggressively in the US too? That’s some news for me!

Leave a Reply

