Office Time pass

These two guys – PR and RA are temporary consulting employees in our team. They both come from the same South Indian state, thus speak the same language. I am one other desi in our team and understand their language. They are both good people, quite helpful and friendly.

I have, however, started getting aversive towards those two since some time now. Why ? Here goes :

* Discussion of all matters – Official or not, AS LOUDLY AS THEY CAN. So loud that those in the entire office building who understand their language now know : Why PRs wife does not like radish, What is wrong with RAs car and yeah, Which movie did each watch recently, complete with the good/bad review et all.

* More than 50% of the day is spent chit chatting. Who said women talk too much? Either in the cafeteria or in their cubicles or generally in the corridor these two are chatting away to glory.

* Have you heard of afternoon walks ? Yes, but for 1 full hour after an elaborate lunch at office? I kid you not, I was invited to join them, many times. Of course my reply was “No, Thanks” ( You enjoy your own thundering voice discussions about family and cars. Me not interested, Thanks).

* And this one is the worst. Proudly announcing that they have not done any work worth a minute in the entire day! “We are consultants. Why should we be bothered about the company? We come, pass time everyday and get paid good money by the hour. You permanent employees go suffer. Hahaha!” Those are the exact words from one of them when I jokingly said that I’ve never seen them busy at work.

The last one has been repeated for more than 10 times so far…of course the wording are different each time as per the context of the talk. Consultant or not, I would be disgusted to while away office time and proudly assert it as an achievement. Consultant or not, I would respect my place of work and my employer who pays for my daily bread. Yes, these old values still hold good for me.

Our team manager is a wonderful lady, very hard working and a totally positive person. She does not seem to notice or know about these two guysย going la-la and time passing in the office. Not sure I must alert her or just shut up and do my job.

But then, I am afraid my disgust will just spill out someday, somehow when I cannot contain it anymore.

I don’t know.

This entry was posted in Get to know people around me, My perspective. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Office Time pass

  1. ok….as i have just finished engg and i am currently jobless…tell me what i would have to do to be a “consultant”…!!!

  2. Silk Smitha – Hi there!
    It’s not that all consultants out there are lazy loitering bums.Many work hard too. You decide which side you wanna be and then will tell you ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. silk smitha and disco shanti says:

    and yeah…doddagombe is megadoll….!! ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Silk Smitha – LOL !!Yeah, I went back and saw what you replied there.Cool codes ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. childwoman says:

    Hmm. I suggest, you keep out for a while, and dont be fooled by the boss. The boss always has four eyes and four ears. They see and hear everything.

  6. childwoman says:

    Hey, no posts lately? everything ok?

  7. Priti says:

    Aiyo! Is there no one at all to keep a tab on these two characters…

  8. Childwoman – I am keeping out, alright and this one is not 4 ear-4 eyes kinda boss, I know. I wish she was ๐Ÿ˜€

    Priti – Hi!
    Yeah..I know, feel the exact same.

  9. jottingsnmusings says:

    Really? I was under the impression consultants had to work extra hard to prove themselves!

    But I know the general type of namoomas you speak of. Got them in my office too. They are good for some laughs if nothing else. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. which office is this ??? ๐Ÿ™‚ …. Come on… who can walk for 1 hour… I sure they smoke and talk… !

    It is because of these kind of so called Consultants that India get bad name… every time we take little more time we get a comment Indians are Lazy…

    We should start working hard… The Great Indian IT BOOM is going… there are many countries which are cheaper than us… If we dont show results .. they will keep shifting to next cheapest Country!
    Please advice your Friends…!!!

Leave a Reply

