Pappu Pass ?

Rest can wait, I have a hot update from the plate.

I took my driving test today.

What’s the big deal, you ask ?? Read on :

California is one of those states with most strict driving laws and even stricter driving tests. Eight out of the ten people I know have not passed it until the second or third attempt 😦

Back in my little town in India, I remember my driving test was a smooth sail, where passing or failing depended more on how much you could pay the inspector rather than how you drove πŸ˜‰ Bad, I know..but what the heck, that was so easy !

But out here now, you realize how serious is this thing you are getting into when you casually tell people about your upcoming driving test and hear a really concerned and heartfelt ‘ Oh !! All the Best!”, more often accompanied by free pieces of advice :” Make sure you don’t slow down too much in a left turn” or “Keep scanning around while in school areas”.

Paranoia sets in pretty easily, especially for one like me who is so averse to driving ( Uh, oh, Fine..Scared of driving ) that I have been bicycling to office until now. Also, read that it makes me proud to bicycle – as a means of great exercise plus avoiding contribution to the traffic pollution !

I digress.

Initial practice sessions were with the hubby, who already has a bad reputation for temper. I respectfully accept the fact that I heard enough and more of foul words from that guy in those few weeks than any gangster in Chicago would ever hear in his lifetime. Okay, exaggeration. But I am a sensitive little being who happens to be his wife, come on now, show some love !

The hubby’s so-called training got so frustrating that I gulped down tumblers of my tears every time I drove. Finally, some solace arrived in the form of ‘Nick’, the driving instructor recommended by a close cousin.

Nick was more than 60 years of age, but maintained a healthy trim body for his small Chinese build. He never used foul words..but..err..yelled anyways, using normal words. Though he said ‘Kickklinggg’ for ‘Keep going’ and ‘ Fined Fote’ for ‘Blind Spot’, he did teach me some cool tricks to backup and parallel park.

However, the day before the test I figured that I held no hope for the next day. The hubby had never ever mentioned that I can pass nor had Nick. If I was worthy of so much yelling, I really didn’t make a good driver.. yet.

I wanted to give it a shot anyway and went to the test center after thorough prayers and pleadings to Lord Ganesha, my favorite one.

The inspector was a lady…sweet looking. She sat down next to me, smiled and softly said “Go straight until the end and then take a right, okay?”. And..my heart almost melted. For the first time in the history of this poor soul, a person had spoken politely/softly while driving !!! I clearly felt my spirits rise and before I knew I was making small talk with her on the road as I drove πŸ˜€ ( Hey, plain breathing was a big deal when driving with Hubby or Nick. So this one surely was something ! )

Take a left ; Change the lane ; Pull over to park ; Back up Reverse – Nothing was complicated anymore.

When done, it felt just natural to hear “Good, you passed.”

Hubby was shocked and Nick almost had a heart attack when I told the news. But, they did smile and nod affirmatively when I pointed out “The inspector never yelled at me. She spoke sweet and polite, I just had to drive and pass”. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Get to know people around me, Meet my crazy other half - The hubby, My perspective, See if I can make you smile. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pappu Pass ?

  1. DewdropDream says:

    Yippeeee!!! Congratulations!!! Men do make lousy driving insturctors… unfortunately they’re the only kind available it seems πŸ˜€ My mum had an instructor who was quite patient but he too would lose his calm occasionally and screech ‘Don’t braaaaaaaake!!!!’.. used to crach mum and me up big time!!! And also made us wonder what he like with his family… was probably one helluva frutrated person haha!

    Does make one wonder though… what do they think they’re going to achieve by yelling? It only makes a woman cringe and get nervous… and make more mistakes.

    Good on you though, you got your license!!! πŸ˜€ Hopefully you won’t have any backseat drivers πŸ˜€

  2. Gnightgirl says:

    Yay you! I’ve been driving for 30 years, never had a ticket (ok, fine, one speeding ticket)…and I’d still be scared to take a driving test with an instructor!

    Congrats!

  3. childwoman says:

    Awesome!! You had the last laugh!!! πŸ˜€

  4. DewDrop – Thank you, Thank you ! πŸ™‚
    Yeah, Universally bad driving Instructors these men are, I suppose πŸ˜‰
    I know of one who shouted so loud at his poor wife panicked and pressed the accelerator instead of the brake. That cost him more than $700 πŸ˜€

    GNightGirl – 30 years and just one lousy speeding ticket?! You are nothing but GREAT, I say πŸ™‚

    ChildWoman – Yes, Yes, I did πŸ˜€

  5. I am yet to get my driving Licence… πŸ™‚ But its not going to be a problem….!! I am sure…

  6. Devaki says:

    Oh, you passed? Congrats!

    I am to take the test *sometime before winter*. πŸ˜€ Please pray for me.

  7. Chutney says:

    Yay! I passed my driving test too! But that was back home, chennai. I drove for exactly 3 seconds on first gear and the inspector said “ok ma, pass pass” πŸ˜€

  8. Jagdeep – Yes, be sure and that confidence helps! πŸ™‚

    Devaki – ‘My dear Lord Ganesha, please let that girl pass her Driving test, just as easily as I did’. There, that’s for you πŸ˜€

    Chutney – Hey, Hi. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚
    ‘Ok Ma, Pass Pass’ were the exact words from my inspector back in India too. LOL! And he asked to stop the car even before I started moving! Hehe.

  9. Dee says:

    Congrats!!

    The DH tried to teach me driving in Indian roads during peak traffic… He screamed at me, yelled and always, always had his hand on the hand break!! But then, Appa took me in his car to some by-lane near Banaswadi and moved to the passenger side and smoked a cigarette and taught me to drive.. I was soo comfortable with Appa & appa was pretty relaxed too.

    When I went to take the test, I begged the Dh to let me go alone and passed the test without any problems… The DH still thinks that I paid money and passed.. hmmmpppphhh

  10. Sumana says:

    hi
    I was blog hopping and came to your blog and liked what I read.
    and when I read this post, I could relate it so much, my driving tests were a nightmare too, me and my husband had most of our fights last year while I was learning to drive, I live in NH and had to take my tests twice before I passed, but I keep telling that what matters in the end is whether you have your license or not :)tc

    Sumana

  11. Sumana – Hi and welcome. Glad you liked it here πŸ™‚

    Oh, yes- that’s what matters in the end!

    So, are you an expert driver now? πŸ™‚

  12. Sumana says:

    I haven’t banged into anyone from the time I have started driving alone for the past 10 months or so …so I can rate myself as a fair driver πŸ™‚ how abt u?

Leave a Reply

