Bulleting it out

I am in grave danger of being smacked in the head for not having posted a thing here since many weeks. Although virtual, sometimes those smacks pain no less . No, really! πŸ˜€

So, here are some very random leaves out of the days in my life lately. Bullet points maketh a post too. Yes ? πŸ™‚

  • The festival season is here! Navarathri, as always, is all about colorful doll displays, dinner invites, pretty sarees and chic jewelry, super yumm sweets ( think Jalebi, Rasmalai, Badam halwa!) and spicy sundal. Navarathri is also about Dandia dancing in gorgeous lehengas. So much of talking and laughing out loud that I recently gave myself a sore throat. The good kind of sore throat πŸ˜€
  • Β I sing Carnatic Classical and I do it decently well, if not exceptionally great. My old, tethered song book with ripped pages and brown edges comes out only during Navarathri. Am just so happy to sing some of my old favorites. But when my memory fails me with some complex compositions, am very much ashamed. I profusely apologize to all music Gods (?) for having failed and for having ignored them all year round. The scenario repeats again the next year anyway, the book having gone back into the rack once again πŸ˜›
  • My MIL is visiting. She is staying with her daughter (my SIL) who lives 7 miles away. She calls us regularly just to ask “How are you doing?”.She visits us when she wants to play with Paapu. She comes over when I have guests coming over and helps with the cooking. She comes when I am too held up at work and my home needs some care. I am beginning to realize she is one of the best things that happened to me with marriage and I cannot thank my luck enough for that. There are itsy bitsy complaints, but there is a lot of warmth and love too..I can see .
  • We have a newborn in the family. Cousin PP, who also lives nearby delivered her second offspring – a bundle of buttery soft, pink cheeked baby boy. The highlight of the news though, was that she had a normal delivery in spite of the C-section during her first delivery 2 years ago. It is called VBAC ( visit link if you need info). Neither many women opt for it nor many doctors agree to go with it. Also, she did it without epidural or pain medication! When I was gushing over how great her achievement was, she calmly tells me “All credit to my husband. He was the one who insisted I should go without epidural. Could not have done without him”. I left my next words float away. How can the husband decide whether the wife should / shouldn’t take pain medication? Isn’t it the sole right of the woman in labor herself? I was told she cried and pleaded for epidural, while the husband stood by his words “No, you can manage without it”. The husband looked at her, beaming with pride. And, I sat there appalled.
  • Β When you are chasing a deadline at work, when you are clamoring to get things done, when all youΒ  are thinking is work all day and even dream of it in the night ( argh!), when you pay less attention to food and more to your computer, when you feel like you are always running ….a simple “I LOVE YOU” note from the hubby can jolt you back to sense. Especially when it is most unexpected and much needed. Deadlines can wait while I smile and pick the phone to whisper it back to him πŸ™‚
  • Β A nine month old is a baby, but a nineteen month old is NOT a baby. Heck, it is easier to type than to accept. I have just that one nursing at night still going on and I cannot seem to bring myself to wean Paapu off. I still mash food for her sometimes, when I know she can handle normal food perfectly, even without the molars. I get protective when hubby plays rough with her ( read hang her head down holding feet for example) when I know she is laughing and having a good time. I worry incessantly when she skips dinner altogether and just gorges on fruits or cheese once a while. I know and I am still in denial 😦 Β My baby is no baby anymore. She is a little girl.
  • Β The wife of a friend has been staying over for few weeks. She moved from east to west coast owing to a job and her husband of 1.5 years is forced to stay alone for the time being. She is a picture of cheerfulness and goes along with everyone like a charm. But, that hint of sadness in her eyes always showed. One fine night, the husband just flew in and surprised the heck out of her! ( yes, we all witnessed the happy tears and jumping). And, the sadness in the eyes vanished, just like that.Β  Sigh! I love Love πŸ™‚

So, what’s been happening on your side ?

Wish you all happy festivities, with Diwali in Β tow next !

See you around, k? πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Get to know people around me, My perspective, Need to share this. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Bulleting it out

  1. sraikh says:

    Hey missed your updates

    The no epidural, if it was done to show support and he was nice about it then all the more power to him(but why does it matter whether one takes an epidural or not, its not like it proves or shows anything, no one gets a medal, everyone hopes for a healthy baby)

    The spouse playing rough, you should not look when its happening. I close my eyes or move away from the scene, because I tend to scream out when I see flips and somersaults

    • I believe that a healthy mom and baby are what matters the most in the end and not the debated revolving around the whole process anyway. But, if a woman delivered normally without pain medication all by sheer power of will, then I think it needs to be applauded. However, that wasn’t entirely the case here. The husband decided for her. Ugh.

      Husband playing it rough – yeah, I am learning to do exactly what you mentioned yaar, getting there πŸ™‚

  2. R's Mom says:

    The husband decided! wow! I am shocked! thats all I have to say!!

    and about playing rough…just pretend you arent seeing anything! RD does stuff to R which I gives me jitters most times and I just turn away πŸ™‚

    and the I love you phone call..Awwww thats cute

    • Yes, he did. I was shocked too. And worst..the wife still looked clueless about what she has been put through. Sigh!

      I still hold my breath when hubby does some tricks with Paapu..but am getting there πŸ™‚

  3. RS says:

    The husband deciding somehow is not a happy thought 😦 she is the one in pain and she is the one who has the right to decide anything! Even if she wanted to opt for a C-Sec again!

    19 month old not being a baby -I sooo agree and I miss that with my son too 😦

    πŸ˜€ awww for the last one – in love with love itself…

  4. anna's mom says:

    no no no. a nineteen month old is as much a baby as a sixteen month old is. you’re not playing fair here.
    as for the epidural i wish there was some way for that guy to go through maybe even 25% of the pain and be denied a pain-killer. that’ll serve him right!

  5. Who is 19months old? Can’t be Paapu? Please!

    I do get baffled when I see misplaced authority, but this epidural thing was shocking!

    Your MIL does seem very sweet πŸ™‚ I remember you had written about how a shopkeeper thought she was your mother. But then, how can she not be sweet with someone like you?

    Aww don’t we all love love! πŸ˜€

    • Hey, you remembered the shopkeeper confusing MIL to mom..wow!
      That’s one of my favorite memories with her many years back.

      And thanks for such a nice comment. You are a sweetheart πŸ™‚

  6. Bikram says:

    Diwali is my favourite lots of Fireworksssss and sweetssssssssssss πŸ™‚

    kudos to the hubby who flew all the way to meet wifey ..
    and this month we are expecting a baby into the family , my cousin’s wife is expecting .. hope its 24th oct then it will be double Diwali fireworksss πŸ™‚

    welcome back

  7. Scribby says:

    the bestest? whispering ‘i love you’ back πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    what’s with daddy’s across the globe? playing rough with their little princesses and putting mommies in state of shock !!! these daddy’s I tell you… πŸ˜€

    whoa carnatic classical?? some talent that πŸ™‚

    touch wood @ MIL πŸ™‚

    come back with more of pappu tales…you know how much we love to read,don’t you?

  8. he he im glad you take our threats(and begging) seriously πŸ˜€

    with in-laws, if the net-net is positive, then that’s good enough to celebrate I guess πŸ˜€ (thats what I think these days)

    oh she is a baby. we’ll call her a baby until she turns her wrath upon all of us, her stupid aunts.

    • Take seriously? Wat? I was shivering with fear and all πŸ˜€

      Yes, think net-net positive. Correct way to go and keep peace πŸ™‚

      Oh yes, call her baby all you want. I will too ! But, treating her like one is what I need to wean myself from 😦

  9. i like your MIL πŸ˜€

    but i like paapu more. kisses to the angel πŸ™‚

  10. Ok, the epidural bit shocked me! And I don’t know why the woman was ‘thankful’ to her husband for deciding that! It’s not like there is a threat to her life or any side effects from it that she/he decided against it !

    You dance, you sing…you are talented, girl !!!! πŸ™‚ Sigh…I am a half-singer too; learned till viLambakarada keertane, used to sing well, now hoarse 😦 Don’t give up, sing whenever you can πŸ™‚ There are some really beautiful songs πŸ™‚ (my fav is raghuvamsha sudhambudhichandra sri)

    awwww at the ‘I love you’ bit :))) real sweet πŸ™‚

    Paapu is 19-months now ?? Telling it in months makes them sound really grown up. Say 1yr 7months πŸ™‚ OK, that’s just me :-)))

    • Yes, the whole thing shocked me too SnS. But, epidural does have side effects – from headache to temporary numbness to permanent ones. But, every medication involves risk, doesn’t it? The husband here is extremely against medicine, so much so that he doesn’t let her take pain killers for severe headaches on normal days too. Anyway, topic for another post maybe.

      Thanks for your compliments dear girl. You sing too? Very nice. Unfortunately do not recognize any song you mentioned. When you are generally doing something at home..sing a song or two regularly, will take away the hoarseness.

      Paapu IS 1 yr 7 months. Feels better that way – yes πŸ˜€

  11. Pepper says:

    Of course Paapu is a baby! She so is, and will always continue to be one for us.
    Btw, I just remembered, the cousin I met last time, did she deliver the baby too? She seemed atleast 8 months pregnant when I saw her.

  12. Anu says:

    Hey! same pinch! I’m trained in Carnatic classical too and it’s the same story with me! These days I hardly sing during festivals either 😦
    Wow! the ‘I love you’ bit is so endearing and good to see such love amidst you and your MIL! touch wood!
    paapu is 19 months old? gosh! she’s no longer a paapu you mean?
    The last bit is really so sweet!

    • Same story of dust catching song book eh? The music Gods must be disappointed with people like us. Oh well, never mind πŸ™‚

      19 months old -yes. But she is still ‘Paapu’ , will always remain so. πŸ˜€

      Thanks for the nice words Anu.

  13. chandni says:

    Thank God you updated mad woman!!!!! Loved the story about your friend and his wife!
    I want pictures of the 19 month old. Just saying.

  14. DewdropDream says:

    19 months?! Time really flies!!!

    I should tell you something, one of my dad’s colleagues has a daughter, she’s married and lives abroad and is a little older than I am. And her parents still call her ‘paapu’. Babies don’t ever really grow up then I guess πŸ™‚

    • Amma’s pet name is Paapa. Nobody in her side of the family calls her by any other name. Even today. Even if it means calling her Paapa aunty. I am planning to have my kids call her Paapa paati πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    • Point. πŸ˜€

      My brother is called “Putta” with love. He is 6 feet tall, black belt in karate and a respectable professional during day. Imagine when all of us go ‘Puttaaaa!’ every time we see /call him πŸ˜›

  15. Swaram says:

    Aww so much luv in this post – that I luv U note, MIL and that friend and her husband πŸ™‚ Wishing u such luv always πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

